HOME / APPLICATIONS & TECHNIQUES

Food Science & Safety

Targeted and Non-Targeted Wine Screening, Winning Back Consumers’ Trust

“Wine quality and safety is a highly important issue for manufacturers, retailers, government control agencies and consumer protection organizations”

Wine and grapes
Tuesday 29th April (Slides now available for download)
Free Webinar

This webinar has already taken place but you can still download the slides from our webinar gateway on bruker.com ( www.bruker.com/service/education-training/webinars/nmr-webinars.html)

Button_View_the_webinar

 

Register now for our informative 45 minute webinar about how NMR can help win back consumers’ trust in the wine industry.

Every year consumers are confronted with food scandals in the media, damaging public trust in the integrity of food manufacturers. Food quality and safety is a highly important issue for manufacturers, retailers, government control agencies and consumer protection organizations, as they struggle to win back the trust of consumers and buyers.

In the wine market, quality and safety issues are of particular importance, as well as guaranteeing origin and authenticity. Even the FDA is now taking measures to look into wine quality.

Bruker WineScreener
NMR WineScreener

What You Will Learn
Typically, food analysis is performed using targeted tests, checking for predefined parameters. This type of analysis is blind to any other deviation outside these parameters.

High resolution NMR* spectroscopy enables non-targeted screening. A single test detects deviations of all kinds, both known and unknown, as well as analysing multiple targeted parameters. This dramatically increases the number of test parameters.

Fraudulent labeling of origin, grape variety, vintage year and dilution can be detected easily, using statistical models of comprehensive authentic sample collections.

With minimal sample preparation compared to other analytical techniques and easy, push-button workflows, NMR analysis can be performed easily by a Chemical Technical Assistant on a daily basis. This reduces the cost per sample, and the cost per parameter is much lower than alternative methods.

The webinar will explain the NMR WineScreener solution, its parameters and will give examples of typical results obtained.

*NMR (Nuclear Magnetic Resonance) spectroscopy is the most reproducible analytical technique, providing detailed information about purity, degradation over time, individual compound structures  and the composition of mixtures.

WineScreening with NMR
Results are easy to understand

Who Should Attend
Everybody working or interested in food quality and safety:

  • Customs offices
  • Governmental control agencies
  • Analytical services companies
  • Wine producers
  • Consortia
  • Consumer protection agencies

Presenters

Dr. Manfred Spraul – Director of Business and Applied NMR Method Development
Léa Heintz –  Business Development and Product Management, Applied NMR

Register Online
All are welcome and there is no charge to attend. Choose a time to suit you:

Tuesday, April 29

Session 1 – 10:00 AM Berlin / 1:30 PM New Delhi / 4:00 PM Beijing

Session 2 –  8:00 AM San Francisco / 11:00 AM Boston / 5:00 PM Berlin